The history of Xiamen Fujian China dates back to the ancient times. It was part of Tong’an County, which was established in the 3rd year of Emperor Taikang’s reign in the Jin Dynasty (282 A.D.). The County was first under Jin’an Prefecture but was later merged into Nan’an County. In the 19th year of Emperor Zhengyuan’s reign in the Tang Dynasty (803 A.D), Datong Square was set up in Southwest Nan’an County and later became Tong’an County under Quanzhou in the 4th year of Emperor Changxing’s reign in the Late Tang Dynasty (933 A.D).
During the Song Dynasty, the place was under the rule of Qingyuan Army and Pinghai Army of Quanzhou. Then it was under the government of Quanzhou Province in the Yuan Dynasty and later Quanzhou Borough in the Ming Dynasty. It was not until the 20th year of Emperor Hongwu’s reign in the Ming Dynasty (1387) that Xiamen Town was built.
Many visitors enjoy a day trip to the small neighbouring island of Gulangyu, which is brimming with picturesque seaside gardens, a maze of peaceful cobbled lanes, cable car rides, statues, gardens and many excellent views. Also nearby is a further island, which contains a town of the same name (Xiamen) and is linked to the city of Xiamen by a causeway.